Better Me

Time heals all wounds so they say

Yet tears they still cascade down cheeks

There are more fish in the sea so they say

But my heart yearns and still we can’t speak

 

That great oak tree where our names are carved

Where our lips united

Now our hearts are starved

What we once had shortsighted

 

It was not a part of the plan

You were always my main character

As if Obama we thought Yes, we can!

We were replacement characters

 

Life is simple now because we have broken free

I can’t be who I was before but I am a better me…

2 thoughts on “Better Me

Leave a Reply

