BIGREC: Rapper. Philanthropist. Mentor. CEO of RHHIB Ent.

Courtesy of BlackIce Bell

Courtesy of BlackIce Bell

BIGREC has got to be one of the hypest rappers I’ve had the pleasure of meeting personally and so talented with everything that he is doing. The New Orleans-born, Oklahoma-bred, Atlanta-certified emcee has graced the microphone with genius bars over gorgeous beats in this game. A man of many words, BIGREC stands out among a sea of unoriginal upcoming rappers; The rapper, philanthropist, mentor, and CEO stands alone on the stage commanding attention and REConciling the community to be better. Pardon My Audacity had a chance to sit and talk with him to ask him the questions all the real hip hop heads want to know.

Jas: BIGREC I recently watched your performance at my first IStandard Producer Showcase and loved all the songs and even more dancing. Tell the readers what songs you performed and where they can find them because they were definitely great songs.

BIGREC: I appreciate it. Just to be clear, I’m very animated on stage and every aspect of what I do, but I don’t want cats to get it twisted thinking I was doing dance steps because I wasn’t. But I definitely was putting a lot of my energy out there and interacting with the crowd. The songs I performed at the IStandard Showcase was an intro produced by an incredible producer named D.R.U.G.S. acronym stands for Dope Real Underground Sound. He produced “Flashlight Intro” it’s a sample of the old school song “Flashlight.” After that, I went into this little medley I call ‘No Hands in the Paint’ because it’s a mix of the beats of Waka Flocka “No Hands” and also “Hard in the Paint”. The reason I actually go about doing that performance is because it kind of what exemplifies my whole mission as it relates to the musical aspect of RHHIB which is to bridge the gap between mainstream and the underground. I rap over some of the beats  that today’s youth and people that are listening to in today’s version of hip hop— basically what’s on the radio.  I put my spin on it and spit my lyrics and I do it a lot different than what people are used to. It has gone over incredibly well. I did something off my latest mix tape it’s called “Bars”; just a lot of play on words and then final thing I did was my signature song “Real Hip Hop is Back” and I only did a verse of that because of timing. Yeah, but those were the songs I performed.

Jas: The first thing I remember hearing out of your mouth while you were on stage is that “real hip hop is back”, but to you what does that mean?

BIGREC: Yeah, I have a whole philosophy on Real Hip Hop is Back. It’s not saying that real hip hop ever went anywhere in its existence. The culture has been here since day one but in the mainstream and in the overall selective conscientiousness of the masses the original intent of the culture and the  original foundation of hip hop has been lost in the shuffle. Ever since big business and  commerce became such a heavy player in society as it relates to hip hop most of the foundational elements have been pushed to the side or covered up as it relates to the main stream and the collective conscientiousness of the masses. The reason I say it’s back is because it’s something I’m projecting forward; I want to see more of a balance in hip hop. At the end of the day, the big part of what I push is that hip hop is a culture; it’s more than just one person’s personal opinion. So in essence, KRS-One, LL and Talib Kweli that’s hip hop it’s a part of the culture just like Waka Flocka, Gucci, or Trinidad James for example. These are all very diverse expressions;  your personal taste doesn’t exclude anyone from hip hop culture. I feel like if there was a lot more balance presented not in general society, but in radio to TV to anywhere people can immediately assess things. I feel like the balance has been lost for so long the things greatly generate commerce are being pushed and then you have a lot of good music that’s out there that nobody hears because it’s not really being pushed. The focus is on commerce and not the culture; so I’m a heavy advocate of bringing balance to the table.

RHHIB_logo_Btrans

Every generational listener when it comes to hip hop is going to like what they like and listen to what they listen to but if there’s a balance then their will be options for the culture.

Jas: So you are the founder for Real Hip Hop is back, tell the readers about your Real Hip Hop is Back Movement.

BIGREC: There is a whole other aspect when it comes to bridging the gap between youth and elders. That’s something I’m really passionate about in it of itself. Making a difference in people’s life and doing stuff that goes a little deeper than just entertainment. I created a company called “RHHIB Enterprise” and there are five different elements of that: entertainment, education, philanthropy, mentoring, and spiritual enlightening. Just like hip hop has five elements: Emceeing, deejaying, beeboying, break dancing, and beat boxing. You have those five elements of Hip Hop culture as a whole and with that same type of structure I wanted to have five fundamental principles of Real Hip Hop Is Back (RHHIB). I feel like all those things are important; it’s important to entertain, to hone your skill and to be innovative with your artistry that’s where the entertainment part comes in. I feel like for education people in this generation aren’t educated enough with the hip hop generation they just know what they know and that’s it. As far as mentoring is concerned, this generation is a fatherless generation. There’s not much of male influence and leadership and not saying that women can’t be mentors, but I believe male figureheads add true religion to the upbringing of the generation before and now so I wanted to implement that into my company as well.  For spiritual enlightening, I think regardless of what your belief is, the spirit is a part of every human being and it’s not highlighted enough where people are in tune with self and they don’t know the greater power. I think that if everyone can tap into that and make that a part of their life everyone’s life could be a little bit better. Oh, and philanthropy—giving back to the community, to your people, or whoever you came up with. Giving outside of yourself and that’s the fifth principle of my company.

Jas: First before we get into your influences tell me where you got your name from?

BIGREC: It’s funny because when u hear of a big wreck like a big car collision that’s the kind of effect I want to have on the stage when I’m performing. I mean I want it to be like a smack not necessarily a smack in the face, but you know more so like a big collision. When you see me I want the impact to be that great.  But ironically, that’s not what inspired the name. REC is short for reconcile; throughout my life from childhood my dad has been a heavy influence in my life and he instilled in me to be about racial reconciliation, reconciling people to God and to be a bridge that brings people together instead of tear people apart and that has always been a part of my life. Because of that and as an emcee, you are looking for a name and Reconcile is what I ended up rockin’ with. And uh, people don’t like saying full words and nicknames are evolving and people were saying ‘Yo Rec’ so it kind of stuck then people would say ‘yo BIGREC’ and it kind of evolved from there because I’m a pretty large dude. It just kind of fit and everyone started calling me BIGREC and it developed into its own brand.

Jas: What are your musical influences like what makes you totally get lost in music?

BIGREC:  I Love soul music, I love hip hop, I love a hard ass beat. I love hearing like these minor cords. Man, I’m old school with it too: Earth Wind and Fire, Marvin Gaye, Michael Jackson, Prince. I grew up in the 80’s so I grew up with whatever my mother was playing. I encountered hip hop in 88’-89’, I remember listening to the radio and they had this mixes and I didn’t know what mixes  were, but they had a lot of New York mixes on. I had a lot of family from New York, but I’m from New Orleans born and raised. In essence, I was in my own world—88’-89’ Eric B. and Rakim’s “Paid in Full” came on the radio and I was like ‘yo what is that?” I got caught and I was so into it that was the genesis for me.  From there, I got into Rob Base, LL, Fresh Prince, DJ E-Z Rock and Jazzy Jeff that whole age  was the start for me.

BIGREC_2012b_sm

Photo credit: BlackIce Bell

Jas: Who are four artists that will always be in your I-pod?

BIGREC: The 5 (Jawz of life, Shred the Verbal Tongue, Snub Zero, KP, and BIGREC), Kendrick Lamar; he’s a dope emcee, Nas; his last album was incredible to me. Pharoahe Monch; That W.A.R We are Renegades is a good album.

Jas: So do you have an EP, Album, or mix tape that you can shameless plug? If so, how would you describe your album?

BIGREC: I dropped a project in October. It’s the final part of a full series RHHIB mix tape it’s called The Movement…Thus Far. I dropped my first volume of the RHHIB mix tape in 2010 (The PreRECuisite), the second Vol 1.5 (The CorRECtive, 2011) it did very well about 20,000 downloads.  I did a ghost release like a real low-key release of Vol 2 for my birthday in 2011 (The DiRECtive, 2011) and dropped the last volume in October it’s doing well a lot of great feedback and the purpose of this one was to introduce a lot of the cats that’s a part of the movement. Big ups to the Five, Phene, Shred the Verbal Tongue, KP, and CoCo; there is so many great artist out of Atlanta.” I wanted to use the opportunity that I had to expose the people to some of the people I’m running with. The big project that’s on deck is an album with legendary Diggin’ in the Crates founder Diamond D. I was blessed with the opportunity to work with him. He saw me performing about three years ago at Apache café and had one of his people come up to me and he introduced me to Diamond D  he was like ‘Yo I’m feeling what you’re doing, I want to work with you’ and its history from there. We’re dropping an album in the first quarter of 2013 called Doomsday it’s all Diamond D production and it’s on the rise. It’s really, really, really a good look; it’s going to open me up to a much broader fan base because Diamond D is a just a legend, a hip hop legend. He so notable for people he’s work with from Busta Rhymes to Fat Joe and The Fugees he’s worked with seems like everybody and the fact that he wants to do an album with me speaks volumes of his respect for my craft. So shout out to Diamond D for the opportunity.

BIGREC not only is making incredible music, but he is making it his business to make an impact in the African-American community. His vision surpasses what lyrics he spits, he gives back through community service activities such as his recent food, toy, and clothes drive at Cloud IX Lounge in Atlanta. His tenacity in the game will be represented with his upcoming Doomsday album, his great team and business RHHIB, and his great work ethic. If you are looking for anyone new to listen to that has the talent and the drive I suggest BIGREC to you.

024

Contact REC here:

RHHIB

Twitter

Facebook

The 5ive

BandCamp

Check out Phene featuring BIGREC:

Leave a Reply

