Joey Kostello: Indie Artist and Man on a mission

JKPardon My Audacity had the chance to meet up with indie artist Joey Kostello. Without a shadow of a doubt, I went to high school with this dude and he’s a dope artist. PMA is always interested in new talent and giving that talent a platform. Joey is a dude making moves and is on a mission to be heard and respected. PMA had the chance to sit down and chat it up with the rising artist.

Jas: Tell the readers a little bit about yourself.

JK: My name is Joey Kostello. I was born in Brooklyn, NY raised in Atlanta, GA. I was first introduced to Hip-Hop from my cousin Troy when I was like 5. The first people I heard were the Wu-Tang Clan, Jay-Z, Nas, Biggie, and 2Pac. Then moving down south it was different I was introduced to Outkast, 36 Mafia, UGK, 8 Ball & MGJ, Dungon Family, so my ears was open to a lot of music.

Jas: What inspired you to become an artist?

JK: When I use to mess around with friends free styling, people use to tell me “Joey….when you dropping your mixtape dog? You could be big fam!” I use to laugh about it but once I started meeting the right people who wanted to work with me I just took it and ran. My first track was called “We Be Stunting” produced by my friend Wise and everybody loved the track, it gave me a lot of confidence to really continue making more music. My god-brother Neal was also a big inspiration because just knowing how serious he was about this it made me take it more serious and we both been dreaming about doing this since we was 12. Music is art and I love creating art for people to love.

kostello

Jas: What do you want to see your career go from now to the future?

JK: Overall, I just want to be successful in what I do. I want to do the live performances, be on live radio stations doing interviews, signing autographs I just want to be at the top of the game. With prayer, faith, and hard work I know I could make it and that’s the whole plan.

Jas: What motivates you to make the music you make?

JK: Everybody. I have friends chasing the same goal and to hear and see them go hard, it motivates me to come and knock people off their feet when they hear my sound. Most importantly I love to see people reactions to my music. When they wild out and tell me “Joey ya shit is crazy!!!” Its gives me goosebumps….and I love that feeling.

jk3

Jas: People claim that “hip hop is dead” what do you think of that statement?

JK: Naw she just chillin waiting for the right artist to be real with her. There are some artists out here who really do some ill hip-hop music. We just gotta delete some of these wack ass artists that are making songs about nothing.

Jas: How would you describe your brand?

JK: Real. I bring a lot to the table. I take pride in my craft and make sure I put 1000 percent into everything. My mind does not sleep lol.

Jas: In a sea full of artist, what makes you stand out?

JK: My sound and the way I go about my work. I have a passion for this and if you don’t then you won’t survive in this business. I work hard.

Jas: Where can fans and readers contact you?

JK: You can get at me on Twitter @JKostello500blk, Facebook.com/JoeykostelloTWSC, IG @Joey_Kostello500 and you can also find my music on Soundcloud.com/JKostello500blk. Shoutouts to my family The Wreck Sh*t Club and Grind and Glory ENT/3rd Eye. These guys made it possible for me and have been there since day one.

I love this song “Gotta Have You” by Joey Kostello:

What do you think? Reminds me of a Dipset song like “Honey Dip” but I love the swag and style of an Upnorth dude so I love his entire Sound Cloud account. Joey Kostello is handing out hot tracks to anyone that wants to listen so be one of those people that hear new music and Remember ladies, It’s no thing when it comes to bringing you some artistic, creative, and incredible scoops because Pardon My Audacity always brings the dopest news to you!

Leave a Reply

