Sitting on a gold mine

raypic

Sitting on a Gold Mine

Ever since I can remember my grandmother has told me that I am sitting on a gold mine. Even at a young age I knew what she was talking about because she had no problem whatsoever elaborating. I grew up knowing that my “gold mine” was precious and that no matter what, I should take the best care of it at all costs! She told me to wait until I was married to a man who loved me with all of his heart. To save it as a gift. It only led me to wonder if little boys got the same speech about themselves. Nowadays I feel like men are in a competition with either themselves or whoever to see how fast they can get into my pants.

Have you ever met a guy and it seemed like things were going great? You’ve been talking and text messaging for a couple weeks, and you finally decide that it’s time to actually go on a date! The date goes well, and you don’t want it to end, so you decide to go to his house to hangout. Then all of a sudden he turns into this touchy-feely, aggressive sex hound who acts as though your vagina is the last on this earth!

Now don’t get me wrong, I love sex just as much as the next person. That does not mean that I want to feel pressured into having sex with someone I just met. Can I at least learn your last name and meet a cousin? Why do some men feel they need to have it as soon as possible? So, while I politely try to make it clear that there is no way in hell he will get anywhere near my happy place, all of a sudden an attitude arises. This for me is a major turn-off. I am sorry, but you’re going to have to do more than tell a few jokes and feed me before I decide to let you enter my body. Point, blank, period!

That being said, ladies, do not ever let anyone pressure you into having sex before you are ready. If they are worth anything, or have any home training they will indeed wait for the right time. Just be firm. Let them know early on that sex is out of the question. Do not feel intimidated, or that no man will ever want to date you because that is simply not true. Sex is the most intimate thing two human beings can do with one another. Just because you’re not a virgin doesn’t mean you’re a whore. Know your worth and remember my gramma’s words: “Girl you sitting on a gold mine!”

raylina

Raylina Robinson is a 25-year-old aspiring poet, author, and songwriter. Graduating as a Certified Medical Assistant, she is always looking for ways to help others, be it through her work or writing. She has one daughter and resides in the Bay Area of California.

Leave a Reply

