From GSU to the Big Screen P2: Noel Braham

nb3From GSU to the BIG Screen Part Two: Noel Braham

Pardon My Audacity has returned with more of our wonderful interview with Noel Braham. Not only can he be seen in a McDonald’s commerical or Ford’s Commercial, he is werrking while most of us are sleeping.

 I pulled from a quote by Colin Powell. He (Colin Powell) said, “If you are going to achieve excellence in big things, you develop the habit in little matters. Excellence is not an exception it is a prevailing attitude..”- NB.

Jas: What has been your most exciting moment in your career?

NB: I think that one (The McDonald’s commercial) is one of the most exciting moments. I think another one that was pretty exciting was the Ford commercial. I will say, I use the term “excitement” as not only fun, but fulfillment as well. As an actor you have to sustain yourself financially; when I booked the Ford commercial and worked out the contract I was unsure if I had been casted. The way commercials work at this time is, you can either make the cut or you don’t. So even if you go out and shoot, you will still be compensated for the shoot. If you’re not in any of the shots that make the commercial then you will not be compensated anymore after the first check. But if you are, you can definitely expect more compensation. This explains why when I went out for the commercial I didn’t know if I made the cast or not.

nbb

NB continues: I heard some things but still wasn’t sure. Mind you, this was when I first  moved out to Los Angeles. I kept thinking “I wonder where my next check will come from” and I knew I needed to get another role soon. I ended up pulling into my parking deck and I decided that the last thing I was going to do was stress; I’m definitely not going to worry about anything. I literally got a call from my mother at that moment and she said, “You just received ten checks (of a substantial amount) and you made the cut for the Ford commercial.” It made me feel truly fulfilled because I was now getting paid for doing what I really wanted to do.

Jas: I can remember a time in the Courtyard at GSU, you were out there strolling with your brothers leading them. What would you say you took from being a leader in college with you becoming a rising star?

nb2

NB: Again J, you’re really hyping me up! (chuckles) I really appreciate it. I remember when I became president that year; it was definitely an amazing year.

Jas: You were hot that year! Giggles.

NB: That year it really came full circle for me, as well as for the chapter. We were going through a pretty big transition trying to reclaim our identity in a sense. There were a lot of things that needed to be cleaned up and one of the things I wanted to change was the chapter’s mindset. I pulled from a quote by Colin Powell. He (Colin Powell) said, “If you are going to achieve excellence in big things, you develop the habit in little matters. Excellence is not an exception it is a prevailing attitude..” That quote is so powerful. I told the chapter in the beginning “This will be our mantra and our mindset. Every single minute thing that we do, whether it be strolling, a program, or turning reports in on time,–in everything that we do, we have to do it in a state of reaching for pure excellence. Anything else will not be accepted.”

nb

NB continues: That is exactly what our chapter did that year. Now don’t get me wrong, we weren’t perfect. But the work ethic we were able to put out there and the mindset we had was phenomenal. The brothers did such an amazing job and it taught me about leadership. Excellence isn’t an exception, it’s an attitude. Just think about what that means. Even in my career I’ve taken that with me. In any and everything I do, I will always execute it with my mind set to be in a state of excellence.

We should have unrealistic thoughts with very concentrated focus and positive actions. Be as unrealistic as possible because when you do the most unbelievable things can happen. -NB 

Jas: Tell readers what’s next for Noel Braham?

NB: Well currently I am shooting an independent film out here in Los Angeles, that I’m extremely excited about, called “Relapse”. We will wrap up shooting in November. In addition to that, I’m working on a film called “Dr. Mabuse: Etiopomar”, a theatrical film set to be to released in 2014 in Los Angeles. I also shot another commercial that’s currently airing for Bounce Television. Lastly, I do have some other things I’m currently working on, but I can’t share the details with you guys quite yet.

GSU Alumni and all fans of great inspirational people, it is our pleasure to introduce Noel Braham. Throughout the interview, I laughed, rearranged the blog, and got accepted in to grad school. This man inspired me by just following his gut and his purpose. If you are interested in more of Noel Braham find him: NoelBraham.com. IG:@Noel_Braham, Twitter: @NoelBraham.

It’s no thing when it comes to bringing you some artistic, creative, and incredible scoops because Pardon My Audacity always brings the dopest news to you!

Like what you read here: Subscribe to the blog! Follow us on Twitter: @PardnMyAudacity. Like our Facebook page. Follow us on IG: @PardonMyAudacity.

Leave a Reply

