Fancy: Designer Blueprint

IMG_5710.PNG
It is always a pleasure to see young entrepreneurs make it in the fashion world. More importantly, it is necessary to be nice to everyone you meet. I met this young lady back in my school days and I am loving to see her win! Her name is Shamirra Clark and she is the creative force behind Richie Clark Clothing, a youthful and modern line for women everywhere. This year her line was featured in Little Rock Fashion Week. As with any fashion week in any city, it is always a big deal. I had the honor of interviewing the artistic Ms. Shamirra, to find out how she made her fashion dreams a reality.

Jenne’: Fashion has always been really interesting to me. I love shoes, it’s my trademark. I love your line too. When did you become passionate about fashion?

Shamirra: I would say I have always been into fashion. Growing up my mom would let me dress myself and I loved creating looks for myself from a really young age. My cousin told me I used to dress like Cyndi Lauper lol. I became passionate about making it my career , four years ago when my aunt died. Growing up I wanted to be a fashion designer but people would say you can end up broke and it’s really hard to make it so I looked for alternative routes. When she died, it made me think about time and life, there is so much uncertainty in this life regardless of what you do. Time isn’t promised to us. I want to go for it and follow my heart.

IMG_5707.JPG
Jenne’: That’s great to hear that you never gave up. Sometimes our greatest triumph comes out of our tragedies. The best part is knowing that you didn’t let what others said deter you from your path. Cyndi Lauper had a very unique and colorful expression with her outfits. Loved her looks. With clothes I know it’s all about quality more than anything. What do you believe makes a quality article of clothing?

Shamirra: A quality garment comes from the construction and fabric, I’ve learned that the combination of the two makes magic!

IMG_5708.JPG
Jenne’: Magic is key when you are creating. I would imagine that you incorporate your own style into your line. How would you define your personal style?

Shamirra: My personal style is fun, bold, chic, and fearless. I love trying trends but I know what works for me as far as my body type. You have to play with fashion and enjoy it!

Jenne’: Yesssss, playing with fashion is how you get the best looks. It is the reason I am late sometimes and the reason I wake up early. What advice do you have for aspiring fashion designers?

Shamirra: I would tell aspiring designers to follow your inspirations. Those random thoughts and day dreams are the sparks of creativity you should run with. Pay attention to your finances because it can be expensive being an independent designer. Keep believing in yourself and don’t let difficulties discourage you. Things happen for you, not to you.

Jenne’: Fashion week is such a fun time but I know it can be quite stressful. The pressure can definitely wear you out. Looking back at all your hard work can be a great motivator. What are some of your accomplishments as a designer?

Shamirra: This whole ride would my accomplishment as a designer and not giving up. I’m not where I want to be but my progress has been beautiful and I am so grateful for the opportunity to live my dreams. There was a time when doing shows and making a collection was so abstract in my mind. Now it’s my normal. I’m working now to get my work in stores and expanding my market.

.

IMG_5709.JPG
Jenne’: I wish you the best on your journey and all your fashion endeavors. Thank you so much for your time girl!

Shamirra: Thank you soo much for this opportunity and your patience!

Recognizing your strengths in this game is what makes you a winner. The blueprint for Ms. Clark is to “Never give up!” I am definitely inspired by her story and hoping to be able to work with her on more ventures in the future. As always ladies, stay Fancy and check out Richie Clark Clothing at http://www.richieclarkclothing.com.

Notes for article: The third picture is of the designer Shamirra Clark. The first two photos are courtesy of richieclarkclothing.com.

_20140611_201539It’s no thing when it comes to bringing you some artistic, creative, and incredible scoops because Pardon My Audacity always brings the dopest news to you!

Like what you read here: Subscribe to the blog! Follow us on Twitter: @PardnMyAudacity. Like our Facebook page. Follow us on IG: @PardonMyAudacity.

Jenne’ Richardson is from Little Rock, Arkansas but enjoys fashion from all over the world. She enjoys making fashion statements with her eclectic pieces and is always changing her hairstyles. All of her friends consider her the go-to guru when it comes to putting a look together. Jenne’ considers herself to be a fashionologist, because she believes fashion represents your personality. As a Psychology major from Philander Smith College, Jenne’ likes to explore what fashion does to the soul. Her motto is: “Style always gives the first impression”. Follow Jenne via Twitter @Shoeicide25.

Leave a Reply

