Music Monday: When Did Male Bashing Become The Hit Maker?

Music Monday: When Did Male Bashing Become the Hit Maker?

By now, readers of PMA know two things about me. One, I love music and two I love history. One of the first songs I ever played lead guitar on is Marlena Shaw’s “Yu/Ma Go Away Little Boy” it was released in 1977 and of course when I was young I didn’t get it’s meaning. If you lived in Philadelphia, PA when WDAS had Butter on Sunday nights, you heard this and James Brown’s “Funky Good Time,” as these were two of his favorites that he played EVERY Sunday night. It’s a song that “Revelations” performs at all age appropriate shows and we kill it because even though it’s a break up song, it’s sweet. Being grown I understand it so much more and even thought the song is 37 years old, it still is relevant, as is Ms. Shaw, in Europe of course where talent never goes out of style.

IMG_6748So, even though he was a “bad man,” the “bashing” here is almost non existent. Fast forward 32 years and Beyoncé Knowles Carter does “Irreplaceable,” and it is meant to empower women to know they can leave a relationship. I’m all about the powerful woman, it’s mostly all I wrote about when I came to PMA. I have a daughter that is growing up without me in the house because I’m divorced. It’s important for me to still be an example of how my baby is to be treated and what a “Woman” is. So I took the demeaning of the male in “Irreplaceable,” personal. To have power only by making the other entity feel small is not power. Liken it to making someone else feel “unpretty” to make yourself the Queen B, is a loser. So if the guy can be replaced so easily why we’re you so deeply involved with him? If you’re going to talk about what you bought him later, don’t buy it…

So, when did it become the road to hits? I almost missed out on Jazmine Sullivan’s beautiful sultry voice because the first track on “Fearless” was, “Bust Your Windows.” Your boy had just bought a brand new Tony Soprano cream Cadillac Escalade, and the thought of the windows being busted out of my baby was unthinkable, and yes, I was cheating on my wife at the time, but we were only in the same home for the “kids.” I said I would always be honest with you and my opinions come from my life experience. Conversely when my soon to be wife, Marsha Ambrosius came out with “I Hope She Cheats On You, (With A Basketball Player)” I tweeted, “I don’t know who has hurt my Songstress, but any album that starts off like this cannot be good.” I knew enough about her then that she writes what she lives and I thought the bloody bastard that had hurt her deserved to die(I promise I’ve calmed down). I had recently divorced and moved halfway across the States to avoid the pain of a failed marriage. I traded in the Escalade, for the plush Lincoln Navigator and life continued. I eventually bought “Late Night and Early Mornings,” after hearing “Far Away” on the radio. These guys deserved to have windows busted and she had every right to wish that her former lover gets cheated on. (Ambrosius wrote the song for a friend who was cheated on and she was so pissed for the friend she wrote that song.)

IMG_6747-0.JPGHow do we justify just talking shit about a dude? I’m not talking TLC and their “No Scrubs,” I mean just disrespectful. I acknowledge that the music industry has allowed for women to be called hoes and bitches on a regular, it’s wrong. I also know two wrongs don’t make a right, however it does make it even. So, it that where Nicki Minaj is allowed to come out with “Lookin’ Ass” I mean I don’t like the song because I am NO one’s n*gga. I don’t use the word and I don’t advocate it’s use under any circumstance. I do find it hilarious that the world was worried about offending the “Hebrews” but are obviously have no issues with “N*gga this and n*gga that.” I have always said what happened to the Jewish people during the Holocaust is an atrocity. What happened to Africa is still ongoing there and what Black people endured and continue to endure in your United States cannot be comparable. Slavery happened over hundreds of years, the Holocaust wasn’t even a decade.

If that’s music then you people really are in trouble in ways that I cannot begin to address here, It’s your own fault, because Nicki Minaj has only had one platinum hit in the U.K. “Bang Bang” by Ariana Grande, and our Jessie J. Vulgarity may be tolerated in the U.K., but we call it that and don’t call it art when it’s clearly perpetuating the same bullshit you claim you don’t want, but are endorsing with your downloads and records sales. Minaj is NOTHING more than a whorish Lil Kim knock off. Certainly drinking “babies” and Eiffel towering does not a woman make. If your raising a son and he hears you, his mother, rocking this, is he more likely to have respect for women, or nah?

tkIt’s no thing when it comes to bringing you some artistic, creative, and incredible scoops because   Pardon My Audacity always brings the dopest news to you!Like what you read here: Subscribe to the blog! Follow us on Twitter: @PardnMyAudacity. Like our Facebook page. Follow us on IG: @PardonMyAudacity.

TK’s Bio: Terrence Kyrell Hodge I was born 9/13/79, in what was then W. Berlin Germany, to Qualise and Lieutenant Tyrone Hodge of the United States Marine Corps. He lived inLondon England and graduated from the University of Michigan Ann Arbor in 2000 with BA in English and Political Science. Terrence writes about any and everything. Terrence is planning a series of novels that are works of “faction” part factual (nonfiction) and partly fictional. He plans to bring a dual vision of American and European observation and opinions to PMA. He will bring blunt honesty with a sense of comedy. He says “I will write wherever I’m needed as I am  NOT a one trick pony

Leave a Reply

