“Paula”: Robin Thicke’s Latest Album

robin-thicke-paula “Paula”: Robin Thicke’s Latest Album

Robin Thicke has received horrible reviews for “Paula,” an album that is basically a plea from start to finish for his wife Paula Patton to take him back (they’re estranged.) I don’t allow for other’s opinions to interfere with my own and so although I listened to the album in it’s entirety when it dropped on July 1, 2014, I went back for the purpose of giving a review from PMA.
There can be no denying that the sales on this album are abysmal; what I cannot understand is why. If you forget the drama that surrounds the singer and listen to the album track by track, it’s good music. The album is called “Paula” but there is no song or interlude with that title. So, you go into this knowing that this is a hour long apology letter and you agree to go on the ride. The first single released “Get Her Back,” is soulful and catchy. Nothing says I’m sorry like admitting it was all your fault and that your lady is perfect. He’s already admitted that he’s “Lost Without You,” I guess the point in leaving him was to remind he that he can’t. The assumption probably is that the entire album is soft ballads and begging and pleading; it would be incorrect. There are some cuts that are dance worthy, but none like the smash “Blurred Lines.”
There are 14 tracks on this album, and I would say roughly 9-10 are good songs. On “You’re My Fantasy,” he’s pouring his heart out and letting his wife know that she is still the woman that he wants. Overall, the album is a nice piece of work. His last album contained the hit “Blurred Lines,” and that’s the only song I can recall from his last album. His best album was “The Evolution Of Robin Thicke,” and if you measure “Paula” against his full body of work, it’s his 2nd best album.
Thicke
I believe there is a double standard in music. Women like Beyoncé and Marsha Ambrosius are celebrated for bearing their souls, and writing about their lives. Men, such as Thicke and Drake are ridiculed for opening themselves up. I admit that Thicke shouldn’t have put himself in a position to be begging and pleading in the first place, however I don’t think that should dismiss this album as “creepy” or “stalking.” He is a man hurting and wants his family back. Finding a favorite song was easy, it was going to be “Get Her Back,” when I listened to the album initially. With reflection and current listening it’s, “Still Madly Crazy.” I’m still madly crazy in love with you… Again, nothing wrong with that. For the hypocrites that are calling this a begging album and dismissing it because of that mustn’t realize that both Keith Sweat (the original beggar) and Drake have made entire careers of doing nothing bet beg.
TK’s Rating *** 1/2 stars out of 5

tk

It’s no thing when it comes to bringing you some artistic, creative, and incredible scoops because   Pardon My Audacity always brings the dopest news to you!

Like what you read here: Subscribe to the blog! Follow us on Twitter: @PardnMyAudacity. Like our Facebook page. Follow us on IG: @PardonMyAudacity.

TK’s Bio: Terrence Kyrell Hodge I was born 9/13/79, in what was then W. Berlin Germany, to Qualise and Lieutenant Tyrone Hodge of the United States Marine Corps. He lived in London England and graduated from the University of Michigan Ann Arbor in 2000 with BA in English and Political Science. Terrence writes about any and everything. Terrence is planning a series of novels that are works of “faction” part factual (nonfiction) and partly fictional. He plans to bring a dual vision of American and European observation and opinions to PMA. He will bring blunt honesty with a sense of comedy. He says “I will write wherever I’m needed as I am  NOT a one trick pony.”

Leave a comment